Pook—DEFINED

Finally, finally, I am defining the word pook. You will find it in no dictionary on Earth, but to me, it’s a very real word, & I’m surprised no one has created it before now, because when someone says it, I experience a very real feeling associated with the word – the same as when someone says “humid” or “cruel” or “sour”.


My sister made it up, & according to her, this is the definition:

pook, n.

  1. A person, place, or thing that is extremely disagreeable, rude, or undesirable.
  2. Anyone who doesn’t do as she wants them to.

(That’s when she declares us pooks, anyway.)

pooky or pookish, adj.

  1. Possessing one or more of the qualities of a pook.

(But we get creative with the word, saying pookiful or pookilicious.)


Though my sister insists my definition is wrong, I’ve taken the word & used it in my own way. My definition of the word “pook” is extremely hard to describe, but I’ll do my best.

Pooky or pookish, adj.

  1. Quaint, old-fashioned, or behind the times in dress or manner; keeping to the social guidelines of older times.
  2. Heartfelt or sentimentally emotional without need.

I exaggerated the second point a little – it’s more like sentimentally emotional when I don’t want to be hearing sentimental stuff.

Now, being pooky is not necessarily bad. I am a self-proclaimed pook, without a doubt. It’s just that pooks tend to be a little overwhelming or not very fun to be around. Maybe their morals are just too stiff, or they don’t laugh enough, they disapprove of too much, they can grow irritating, they’re too realistic & thoughtful, & they talk too solemnly & earnestly. I’m a quiet pook, so it can be hard to tell that I am one, but in my thoughts, I am wildly pooky—you have no idea. I think of how modesty has gone to pot these days, & what my life is all about, & how many books I’d like to read & don’t have time for, & some different types of events – these I ruminate & pass judgments on.

So, to help you get a feeling for what exactly pooky means, I’ll flag down all my pooky sentences whenever I catch one, & you can learn by example.

Of course, as you use the word in time, your definition may blossom into something else, & that’s okay. The point of making up a word is to let it have its own character & place in the English language. Pook is a commonly used word in our household, & I’m glad it was created.

Well, that’s it for tonight. I’m just listening to some Winter here, & enjoying it tremendously. Try 2:11-3:23 of this Winter, too. (Is it just me, or do you too detect glimmers of Mansfield Park in there?) Or definitely take a look at this one.

Have a pookendous night!

~ ninniforlife

