On Modern Music

If there’s one thing I absolutely cannot & will not stand in this life, it’s modern music. It’s loud, it’s blaring, & it’s obnoxious. I would infinitely rather take classical, or even good old country over what people are producing these days.

Unfortunately, one can’t live in an isolated bubble all one’s life. I’m around family members & friends who play that kind of music. It annoys me to no end, but I can’t do much about it.

But really, what is the real irritation behind modern music? Why do I dislike it so much?

It’s hard to pinpoint, but here are a few strictly detailed reasons:

  1. Modern music, first & foremost, is disgustingly indecent. The subjects around which some (or most) modern songs revolve are vulgar & offensive.
    2. Almost none of it is actually music. Music has lost its very definition these days. I can only think of one or two singers who actually feel & emotionally express the music they perform.
    3. & finally, on a better-defined note, the lyrics themselves are not the greatest, when you come to think of it. I generally prefer to avoid the songs if the lyrics go something like this:

1, 2, 3 1, 2, 3 drink
1, 2, 3 1, 2, 3 drink
1, 2, 3 1, 2, 3 drink

Or this:

Look upon Your Greatness and she’ll send the call out
Send the call out
Send the call out
Send the call out
Send the call out
Send the call out
Send the call out
Send the call out
Send the call out
Send the call out
Send the call out
Send the call out
Send the call out
Send the call out
Send the call out
Send the call out

(Not joking about that one, either.) Or this:

Why I got you on my mind
Why I got you on my mind
Why I got you on my mind
Why I got you on my mind
But my heart don’t understand
Why I got you on my mind
Why I got you on my mind
Why I got you on my mind
Why I got you on my mind

And that about sums up my detestation of modern music. That last song is the very bane of my existence. I cannot stand it.

Now, listen to this one.Piano and Violin

Which, when all is said and done, will last longer?

Classical music is what it seems to be – classic. It will always outlast modern music, which is exactly what it seems to be – modern. Once those modern days are over, the music goes with it.

I feel lucky to be able to appreciate classical music. I’m sorry for those people who simply don’t get the beauty in a simple theme or a musical progression (5:53, peaking at 7:48) of a classical piece. I feel sorry for those people who only care for songs that have a quick rhythm, a persistent beat. I myself am not lucky enough to be able to appreciate opera (or Shakespeare) so much, but I’m trying. The more opera I listen to (and the more Shakespeare I read), the better I like it.

This is not to say that I can’t appreciate modern music. I like a lot of it, actually. It’s simply that as soon as I listen to classical music, I fall in love with it again and I just can’t like this new stuff.

To conclude, classical music as a whole is undoubtedly superior to any of these days’ music. May it never die.

Long live classical music!!!

~ ninniforlife

