A Complete List of Keyboard Shortcuts

If you could sum up my laptop life in a few words, it would be these: keyboard shortcuts. I’m almost to the point at which I don’t have to use my touchpad at all. (There’s actually a setting to use your keypad instead of your touchpad to control the cursor, but I haven’t messed with that so much.)

Shortcuts have truly changed my life. Having a techy family helps because we share keyboard shortcuts with each other sometimes. Some shortcuts are tricky to remember & even trickier to get used to, but in the end it saves me loads of time! I have such a surplus of extra time due to these shortcuts that I’m using it to write this post.

So here we go.


Selecting:

You can get yourself around fairly quickly by pressing down Ctrl with your left hand & using the small panel of arrows with your right hand. Right & left arrows move you word by word, while the up & down arrows move you paragraph by paragraph.

Well, to select all the text you want, just hold down Ctrl + Shift together & use the small panel of arrows as you would if you were just pressing down Ctrl.


Editing:

Ctrl + C: Copy selected text.
Ctrl + X: Cut selected text.
Ctrl + V: Paste selected text.
Ctrl + I: Italicize selected text.
Ctrl + B: Bold selected text. I’ve been using this one a lot.
Ctrl + U: Underline selected text.


Getting around:

Alt + Tab: Enter your last-entered application. To cycle through all applications, press Alt+Tab, then release the Tab button & press it again to move through applications.

Alt + Shft + Tab: Move through your applications backwards.

Ctrl + Tab: In a web browser, this shortcut moves you to the tab to the right of your current one.

Ctrl + Shift + Tab: Takes you to the tab to the left of your current one.

Ctrl + 1Ctrl + 9: Switch to the tab at the specified tab number. (For example, Ctrl + 3 switches you to tab #3.)

Space bar: Use this when you’re on a webpage; it scrolls you down. You can also press that little button, PGUP—you know, the one in the upper right, the one you never thought had a purpose—to quickly get yourself to the top of your document. Its brother, PGDN (which stands for Page Down), gets you to the bottom of said document with one motion.

Windows Key + M: Minimize all windows. A lot smoother than haphazardly clicking the minimize button a hundred times when someone approaches your laptop.


Generally helpful:

Ctrl + Z: Undo. Yes or no, this is or will be the most frequently used shortcut for you?

Ctrl + T: When in a web browser, this opens a new tab.

Ctrl + W: When in a web browser, this closes the current tab.

Ctrl + Shft + T: When in a web browser, this reopens the last tab you closed.

Ctrl + R: Refreshes current webpage. You’ll use it more than you think.

Alt + D: Selects the link in your web browser. Ah yes. This is especially helpful when I’m switching among tabs, collecting links to add to my posts.

Ctrl + D: Bookmarks your current webpage. I myself love this because I have a complicated system of bookmarks on my laptop & I’m always adding new ones. Another reason I use bookmarks so much is because I never fully trust my laptop to bring up all my tabs when it’s finished installing updates & restarting, so I bookmark all my tabs before a restart.

FN + PRTSC: When NumLock is enabled, it takes a screenshot. I don’t think this is a very nice interface because it gives you no sign that it actually takes the screenshot. However, it’s on your clipboard & you can paste it into a document.

This isn’t a keyboard shortcut, but I use it a lot: If you drag your current application to the far, far left or far, far right, a translucent frame should appear. Release the application & it’ll take up exactly half of the screen. I like using this split screen to compare my writing side-by-side.


Generally unhelpful:

F5: This is one of those keys I don’t understand, like INS (see below). It wasn’t very long ago that my cat stepped on my laptop & after I shooed him away, I found that I couldn’t move my mouse at all. Fortunately, I was able to use my keyboard shortcuts & a plug-in mouse to look it up & figure it out. Turns out that F5 locks the mouse – pressing it again will remedy the problem. (The key probably varies by PC, though.) So who was the genius who decided that? At least have us press Ctrl + F5 to make it harder for it to happen by accident! Because of that abysmal design, my cat caused me a good ten minutes of absolute panic!

INS: This a truly unfortunate situation to have pressed it by accident. If you press this wacky little key without realizing it or knowing what it does, I promise you, it’s an absolute horror. It makes anything you type replace the letter before it. I once got it stuck & didn’t know what to do about it. CHAOS. Again, where were sane designers for that?


Inserting:

Alt + 0151: I don’t know about you, but I love long dashes (—). I use this one rather long “shortcut” very often. If you use this one, though, be sure NumLock is on & that when typing in the numbers, you use the set of numbers to the right of the keyboard, not the top.

  • Ctrl + Shft + L: Insert a bullet list like this one. This doesn’t work in all applications, but it does in Wordpad. Other applications will make it easier for you & turn any of your hyphens to bullets automatically.

Last notes & advice now, I guess.

I could go on & on about how awesome shortcuts are, but I think everyone has varying degrees of awe for them anyway, so it doesn’t really matter.

So, I’ll just have to end it on one piece of wisdom:

We’ve all experienced situations of uncertainty concerning our PCs. I experience it almost daily. It’s that embarrassing moment when I have no idea what it’s downloading, what it’s asking, or what it’s doing. So, my final & most important advice to you:
When in doubt, press ESC. 

~ ninniforlife

 

